A Life Saving Yoga Practice

January 24, 2019

Yogi’s are a grateful bunch. For many of us, yoga fit in where nothing else did, to help us find ourselves; many of us, in the depths of great uncertainty in life. I found yoga when I moved away from everyone I knew, and took it on as a practice to distract me from living way too far from where I wanted to live. I’ve often “been nice” and always allowed for others to have what they want first. Through my practice of yoga, I’ve learned exactly how wrong that is. Giving up any portion of yourself that you don’t want to give, does damage to you, body, mind and spirit.

At Home Sadhana

Yoga helps you understand your self worth. Whether you practice in the early mornings or late evenings you know the joy to just be one with yourself. Whether you are a lone practitioner, or like to practice with a group, we all look forward to unrolling that yoga mat,and the magic that happens once you’ve connected body with breath.

Your Physical Practice or Sadhana in Ancient Sanskrit, should be at least 20 minutes a day if you can’t make it to a class. Find a great online yoga class to follow, or better yet, turn on some music you love and see where the movement leads you. You don’t always need a teacher if your practice is Truly and Cosmically connected to you.

Yoga as described in The Bhagavad Gita:

“The Journey of The Self,Through The Self and to The Self”

~Bhagavad Gita

As you begin to deepen your practice, you begin to become more connected to your inner OM. A Sadhana is not simply your physical practice, but should incorporate the 8 Limbs of Yoga. The Yoga Tree, and all it’s Limbs are equally important, and for those of us connected with our higher selves, we Practice factions of each Limb.

8 Limbs of Yoga

Yama – Our Ethical standards and personal integrity. How we deal with situation of just and unjust. The Golden Rule – ‘Do Unto Other as you would have them Do Unto You.’

  • Ahimsa: nonviolence
  • Satya: truthfulness
  • Asteya: nonstealing
  • Brahmacharya: continence
  • Aparigraha: noncovetousness

2. Niyama – Our personal and spiritual observances. How our Spirituality affects our lives.

  • Saucha: cleanliness
  • Santosa: contentment
  • Tapas: heat; spiritual austerities
  • Svadhyaya: study of the sacred scriptures and of one’s self
  • Isvara pranidhana: surrender to God

3. Asana – Yoga Postures, also known as Yoga Class.

4. Pranayama – Life Force, also known as Breath.

5. Pratyahara -The withdrawal or Sensory Transcendence.

6. Dharana – Concentration

7. Dhyana – Meditation

8. Samadhi – Nirvana

When I began my yoga journey, I was easing back into my Spiritual Self. The Self that was giving psychic readings to most of the people I’d known for years. If you read cards, palms, anything, you know how draining it is. You also know that no matter what you do or how you try to stop it, your gift will always be there.

Yoga does not mean you put up with abuse, discrimination and any other injustices in the world,. Yoga means you understand the true meaning of life, that you are not here to hurt others, but to help them grow. Yoga teaches us that we all have a light inside of us. Yoga teaches us to recognize that light. If the light on someone is too dim, or out, offer what you can to that person, and be done with them. Yoga does not give allowance to anyone to take advantage of you. Yoga is what Warriors are made of.

Snow Bird of Paradise

Yoga allows you to be your truest self. A daily Sadhana makes you more confident within yourself. The physical practice brings on strength, control and balance in all aspects of life.

This next Blog Series will focus on the 8 Limbs of Yoga and how they connect to your life.


Published by Roseanne Carlo

Founder at Gypsy Tribe Westchester 69 Westchester Ave Pound Ridge, NY 10576

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: